The Scottish football league system has seen a number changes from its inception for the 1890-91 season. From the list of clubs who competed for the inaugural championship, all but three clubs are either defunct or continue to ply their trade in non-league circles.


The teams who competed for the first championship were:

Abercorn, Cambuslang, Celtic, Cowlairs, Dumbarton, Heart of Midlothian, Rangers, Renton, St. Mirren, Third Lanark and Vale of Leven.


Goal difference replaced goal average (which had only been introduced for the 1921-22 season onwards) for deciding placings in the 1971-72 season.


Three points for a win replaced the 2 points system for the 1994-95 season onwards.


Here's how the League structure has been amended over time:


 1891 - 18931893 - 19151915 - 19211921 - 19231923 - 19261926 - 1946
First tierScottish LeagueDivision OneDivision OneDivision OneDivision OneDivision A
Second tier Division Two Division TwoDivision TwoDivision B
Third tier    Division Three 
Fourth tier      
 1946 - 19551955 - 19751975 - 19981998 - 20132013 to date 
First tierDivision ADivision OnePremier DivisionPremier LeaguePremiership 
Second tierDivision BDivision TwoDivision OneDivision OneChampionship 
Third tierDivision C Division TwoDivision TwoLeague One 
Fourth tier   Division ThreeLeague Two 



For those who ever wondered what their club has won, their worst ever defeat, their best win - the answers are all here. For a list of clubs, select from the following list:


AberdeenAirdrieoniansAlbion RoversAlloa Athletic
Annan AthleticArbroathAyr UnitedBerwick Rangers
Bonnyrigg RoseBrechin CityCelticClyde
Cove RangersCowdenbeathDumbartonDundee
Dundee UnitedDunfermline AthleticEast FifeEast Stirlingshire
Elgin CityFC EdinburghFalkirkForfar Athletic

Greenock Morton

Hamilton Academical

Heart of Midlothian



Inverness Caledonian


Kelty HeartsKilmarnockLivingston

MontroseMotherwellPartick ThistlePeterhead

Queen of the SouthQueen's ParkRaith RoversRangers
Ross CountySt JohnstoneSt MirrenStenhousemuir
Stirling AlbionStranraerThe Spartans