The Texaco Cup, (the sponsored name of the International League Board Competition), was an association football competition involving sides from England, Scotland and Ireland that had not qualified for European competitions.


It was one of the first football competitions to receive sponsorship, taking the name of American petroleum company Texaco for £100,000, and was instituted to help promote Texaco's recent purchase of the Regent filling station chain.


Irish and Northern Irish clubs withdrew from the competition after 1971–72 due to political pressure,competing in a separate Texaco (All-Ireland) Cup in 1973–74 and 1974–75.


Crowds in the competition fell after the first few seasons, and it became the Anglo-Scottish Cup from 1975–76 after Texaco's sponsorship ended.



For the first four seasons it was played as a straight knockout tournament, with sixteen clubs entered, all ties being two-legged. For the final season of the competition, 16 English clubs played in groups before being joined in the knockout stages by four Scottish sides.





EnglandBurnley, Nottingham Forest, Stoke City, Tottenham Hotspur, West Bromwich Albion, Wolverhampton Wanderers
ScotlandAirdrieonians, Dunfermline Athletic, Dundee, Heart of Midlothian, Morton, Motherwell
Ards, Derry City
Republic of IrelandLimerick, Shamrock Rovers


EnglandCoventry City, Derby County, Huddersfield Town, Manchester City, Newcastle United, Stoke City
ScotlandAirdrieonians, Dundee United, Falkirk, Heart of Midlothian, Morton, Motherwell
Ballymena United, Coleraine
Republic of IrelandShamrock Rovers, Waterford


EnglandCoventry City, Crystal Paalce, Ipswich Town, Leicester City, Newcastle United, Norwich City, Sheffield United, West Bromwich Albion, Wolverhampton Wanderers
ScotlandAyr United, Dundee, Dundee United, Heart of Midlothian, Kilmarnock, Motherwell, St Johnstone



EnglandBirmingham City, Burnley, Coventry City, Everton, Leicester City, Newcastle United, Norwich City, Sheffield United, Stoke City
ScotlandAyr United, Dundee United, East Fife, Heart of Midlothian, Morton, Motherwell, St Johnstone




EnglandBirmingham City, Blackpool, Carlisle United, Luton Town, Manchester City, Middlesbrough, Newcastle United, Norwich City, Oldham Athletic, Orient, Peterborough United, Sheffield United, Southampton, Sunderland, West Bromwich Albion, West Ham United
ScotlandAberdeen, Ayr United, Heart of Midlothian, Rangers


Here's a full list of the Texaco Cup winners:


 ClubNo of winsSeasons in which competition won

Newcastle United21973-74, 1974-75

Wolverhampton Wanderers11970-71

Derby County11971-72

Ipswich Town11972-73