Winners: Vale of Leven

Runners-up: Rangers

Holders from previous season: Vale of Leven


First round
28 September 18781st Lanark Rifle Volunteers0-0Parkgrove
28 September 18783rd Edinburgh Rifle Volunteers3-1Brunswick
unknownAlexandra Athletic3-1Jordanhill
28 September 1878Alexandria2-2Renton Thistle
5 October 1878Annan0-3Queen of the South Wanderers
28 September 1878Arbroath3-0Dundee Our Boys
28 September 1878Auchinleck Boswell0-2Ayr Thistle
28 September 1878Ayr Academicals4-1Cumnock
21 September 1878Barrhead1-0Wellington Park
28 September 1878Beith1-0Hurlford
28 September 1878Busby3-1Morton
28 September 1878Cartvale1-4Arthurlie
WalkoverCatrine GirvanScratched
5 October 1878Clifton & Strathfilan0-1Vale of Teith
WalkoverClyde BlythswoodScratched
Clydesdale DennistounBoth sides disqualified
WalkoverCree Rovers StranraerScratched
28 September 1878Derby0-0Oxford
28 September 1878Dumbarton8-110th Dumbarton Rifle Volunteers
28 September 1878Edinburgh Thistle2-1Hanover
28 September 1878Falkirk1-0Campsie Glen
unknownGlengowan4-3Mount Vernon
28 September 1878Govan7-0Ailsa
28 September 1878Hamilton Academical3-1Uddingston
28 Spetmber 1878Havelock1-73rd Lanark Rifle Volunteers
21 September 1878Heart of Midlothian3-1Swifts
5 October 1878Helensburgh4-0Kilmarnock Thistle
28 September 1878Hibernian5-2Dunfermline
21 September 1878Jamestown3-1Lennox
28 September 1878John Elder7-0Blackfriars
28 September 1878Kilmarnock0-2Kilbirnie
21 September 1878Kilmarnock Portland9-0Dean
28 September 1878Lanemark2-2Klmarnock Athletic
28 September 1878Lenzie3-0Thistle Athletic
28 September 1878Levern1-123rd Renfrew Rifle Volunteers
WalkoverMauchline Maybole CarrickScratched
5 October 1878Maybole Ladywell3-0Tarbolton Burntonians
28 September 1878Newmains0-12Upper Clydesdale
28 September 1878Northern2-2Partick
28 September 1878Petershill4-2Albatross
28 September 1878Pollokshields Athletic3-3Whiteinch
21 September 1878Possil Bluebell8-019th Lanark Rifle Volunteers
21 September 1878Queen's Park8-0Kelvinbank
28 September 1878Rangers3-0Shaftesbury
28 September 1878Renfrew Ramblers1-117th Renfrew Rifle Volunteers
WalkoverRenton Star of LevenScratched
unknownRob Roy1-0Coupar Angus
28 September 1878Rosslyn0-1Union
5 October 1878Shotts3-0Drumpelier
5 Octover 1878South Western2-0Caledonian
WalkoverStonefield 4th Renfrew Rifle VolunteersScratched
5 October 1878Stonelaw4-0East Kilbride
5 October 1878Strathblane8-1Grasshoppers
21 September 1878Thistle2-0Possilpark
21 September 1878Vale of Leven6-0Alcutha
WalkoverWellpark GovanhillScratched
28 September 1878Whitefield10-0Telegraphists
ByeEdinburgh University
ByeGlasgow University
ByePort Glasgow
ByeSt Clement's
Pollokshaws Athletic Withdrew before competition began
5 October 187817th Renfrew Rifle Volunteers1-2Renfrew Ramblers
5 October 187823rd Renfrew Rifle Volunteers0-1Levern
5 October 1878Kilmarnock Athletic4-0Lanemark
5 October 1878Oxford1-1DerbyBoth teams advanced to next round
5 October 1878Parkgrove6-21st Lanark Rifle Volunteers
5 October 1878Partick2-0Northern
5 October 1878Renton Thistle1-1AlexandriaBoth teams advanced to next round
5 October 1878Whiteinch3-3Pollokshields AthleticBoth teams advanced to next round
Second round
19 October 18783rd Lanark Rifle Volunteers8-1Wellpark
26 October 1878Airdrie1-2GlengowanBoth teams advanced to next round
19 October 1878Alexandra Athletic3-0Burnside
WalkoverArbroath St Clement'sScratched
19 October 1878Arthurlie3-1Busby
19 October 1878Barrhead6-2Port Glasgow
19 October 1878Beith3-1Ayr Thistle
19 October 1878Catrine3-1Maybole Ladywell
26 October 1878Cree Rovers0-3Queen of the South Wanderers
12 October 1878Govan2-1Oxford
19 October 1878Heart of Midlothian1-0Edinburgh Thistle
19 October 1878Helensburgh4-1Alexandria
19 October 1878Hibernian3-03rd Edinburgh Rifle Volunteers
19 October 1878Jamestown7-0Upper Clydesdale
19 October 1878John Elder4-0Stonefield
19 October 1878Kilbirnie0-2Kilmarnock Athletic
19 October 1878Kilmarnock Portland4-1Thornliebank
19 October 1878Levern1-2Renfrew Ramblers
19 October 1878Mauchline5-1Ayr Academicals
19 October 1878Parkgrove1-0Union
19 October 1878Partick2-1Possil Bluebell
19 October 1878Pollokshields Athletic0-6 Queen's Park
19 October 1878Rangers6-1Whitefield
19 October 1878Renton1-6Dumbarton
26 October 1878Rob Roy3-1Vale of Teith
19 October 1878Shaugraun1-0Lenzie
19 October 1878Shotts1-1Clarkston
19 October 1878South Western5-0PetershillMatch declared void
19 October 1878Stonelaw2-0Hamilton Academical
19 October 1878Strathblane1-0Falkirk
19 October 1878Thistle4-1Clyde
26 October 1878Vale of Leven11-0Renton Thistle
19 October 1878Whiteinch1-3Derby
ByeEdinburgh University
ByeGlasgow University
WalkoverClarkston ShottsScratched
26 October 1878South Western8-0Petershill
Third round
2 November 18783rd Lanark Rifle Volunteers2-1South Western
9 November 1878Alexandra Athletic2-0John Elder
9 November 1878Beith7-1Barrhead
9 November 1878Catrine0-3Kilmarnock Portland
9 November 1878Dumbarton5-0Strathblane
16 November 1878Edinburgh University2-5Hibernian
9 November 1878Govan4-0Derby
9 November 1878Heart of Midlothian2-1Arbroath
9 November 1878Helensburgh2-0Shaugraun
16 November 1878Kilmarnock Athletic5-0Queen of the South Wanderers
9 November 1878Mauchline4-1Arthurlie
16 November 1878Partick1-2Thistle
WalkoverQueen's Park Glasgow UniversityScratched
9 November 1878Rangers8-2Parkgrove
9 November 1878Stonelaw1-0Clarkston
9 November 1878Vale of Leven15-0Jamestown
ByeRenfrew Ramblers
ByeRob Roy
Fourth round
30 November 1878Beith9-1Kilmarnock Athletic
30 November 1878Helensburgh2-1Heart of Midlothian
7 December 1878Hibernian9-0Rob Roy
30 November 1878Kilmarnock Portland1-1Dumbarton
30 November 1878Queen's Park5-0Mauchline
30 November 1878Rangers3-0Alexandra Athletic
30 November 1878Renfrew Ramblers0-43rd Lanark Rifle Volunteers
30 November 1878Thistle2-0StonelawThistle were disqualified and Stonelaw and Partick were reinstated
30 November 1878Vale of Leven11-1Govan
7 December 1878Dumbarton6-1Kilmarnock Portland
Fifth round
8 March 1879Dumbarton9-1Stonelaw
8 March 1879Hibernian1-2Helensburgh
8 March 1879Queen's Park5-03rd Lanark Rifle Volunteers
8 March 1879Rangers4-0Partick
8 March 1879Vale of Leven6-1Beith
22 March 1879Queen's Park0-1Rangers
22 March 1879Vale of Leven3-1Dumbarton
29 March 1879Helensburgh0-3Vale of Leven
19 April 1879Vale of Leven1-1RangersPlayed at 1st Hampden Park, Glasgow
6,000Ferguson   Struthers Referee: J Wallace (Beith) 
WalkoverVale of Leven RangersRangers refused to play in the replay due to a disaalowed goal in the original match. Vale of Leven awarded the Cup