Division Three (North) Cup




Winners: Bradford City

Runners-up: Accrington Stanley

Winners from previous season: Southport


For the first time, not all of the Division Three (North) clubs competed in the cup.

Eight teams - Barnsley, Chester, Doncaster Rovers, Halifax Town, Lincoln City, Southport, Stockport County and York City - all declined to enter.

The competition was abandoned after this season.


First round
2 January 1939Accrington Stanley2-1Rochdale1,663Peel Park, Accrington
19 January 1939Barrow5-2Oldham Athletic1,239Holker Street, Barrow-in-Furness
18 January 1939Gateshead4-2Carlisle United290Redheugh Park, Gateshead
2 January 1939Hartlepools United4-1Darlington2,000Victoria Park, Hartlepool
30 January 1939Rotherham United0-0Bradford City947Millmoor, Rotherham
1 February 1939Wrexham2-1Crewe Alexandra774Racecourse Ground, Wrexham
8 February 1939Bradford City1-0Rotherham United1,154Valley Parade, Bradford


22 February 1939Bradford City6-0Hull City1,678

Valley Parade, Bradford

8 March 1939Gateshead0-0Hartlepools United290Redheugh Park, Gateshead
8 March 1939Wrexham1-1New Brighton389

Racecourse Ground, Wrexham

8 March 1939Accrington Stanley4-3Barrow 250

Peel Park, Accrington


15 March 1939Hartlepools United5-1Gateshead680

Victoria Park, Hartlepool

22 March 1939New Brighton4-3Wrexham903

Sandheys Park, New Brighton



29 March 1939Bradford City5-2Hartlepools United1,125Valley Parade, Bradford
19 April 1939New Brighton0-0Accrington Stanley2,000Sandheys Park, New Brighton


26 April 1939Accrington Stanley2-0New Brighton1,400

Peel Park, Accrington

1 May 1939Bradford City3-0Accrington Stanley3,117

Valley Parade, Bradford